Help with home made splitter

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Luno14

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
OK, so I ran across this site and decided to register since there seems to be a lot of knowledgeable people who may be able to answer a few questions about a home made log splitter that I bought off of eBay?
I don't know how long this thing has been sitting but it appears it's been awhile? It had an old B&S 5 HP motor and a pump that has a tag that says "Northern Inc", it has a cylinder that has "Prince" and it's rated at 2500 psi.
The B&S motor had no spark so a friend of mine gave me a 6.5 HP Kohler engine that worked along with a pump that has "GRH CBT-13/1.8" stamped on it, I put them on the splitter and it splits wood, does it split good? IDK? It does split that's about all I can say. It's my first time ever owning one.
The valve has no identifying marks other than "Made in the USA" , "A", "B", "In" and "Out"?
I would like to add a pressure gauge but don't know which port to put it at nor do I even know if the hose's are in the right ports? So guy's, any help would be appreciated!

You will "T" the pressure gauge into the line labeled "IN". This will the the high pressure side of the circuit. Usually this is done at the valve with the gauge hard plumbed to the valve (using steel fittings instead of hose). Then connect the hose to the end of the "T" you just used to install the valve

OK, sounds simple enough! As far as ports A and B, should the hose or line from the back of the cylinder be on port A or port B?

It really doesnt matter. most people have the lines plumbed so the handle moves to extend the cylinder when pulled. if pushing the handle feels more natural to you then you can plumb them that way. either way is fine