Hood River/ Portland beta please!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CanopyGorilla

climber....sawyer
Reaction score
Hi, First post here. I am hoping to get some info from some folks who may live in the Columbia Gorge region.

I currently live in western Montana and my wife and I are in the process of trying to move out to the Portland or Hood river area. My question is how is the job market out there for a somewhat green climber. I have researched online and found that there are quite a few tree services in the area but would like to know how tough it is to break into the biz out there. Here is a bit about me so you may be able to better answer my question. I am on my second season of working for a tree service and first season climbing for them full time. My background is in rock climbing which I have been doing for almost twelve years so I came to tree climbing with a very intimate understanding of insanely complex rope systems. I also used to work for a search and rescue outfit that focuses on some of the most technical rock face rescues in the country. Because of this I took immediately to the rope work aspect and have been using both Ddrt and SRT (Texas style because it is the most similar to rock climbing techniques for ascending a rope). I have a background in landscape and nursery work (including sales at a tree nursery) so my knowledge base for proper pruning and species identification is decent. I consider myself to be personable and good with customer service and communication. Later this summer I plan to try and get my class B CDL. I am a fairly decent skid steer operator (with several different attachments) and also daily operate different kinds of stump grinders, chippers, mini skids, and boom trucks. I am a certified pesticide handler in Montana. When I get done in a tree I am not afraid to take 5, drink some water and get back to helping w