How Do You Place Your Wood

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

s37d

ArboristSite Member
I've been trying to decide on how to stack wood in my stove. I'm relatively new to wood burning, only had the stove 3 years now. It's a good size stove in a medium sized room, so in an attempt to save wood, I've only been stacking the back half. I'll get a good fire going, then push all the coals to the back half, and stack either 1 huge piece or 2 smaller ones right up to the top of the stove. I push it to the back because the fan is in the back so the heat stays closer to it. I've been purposely only using the back half of the stove to save wood. Sometimes it doesn't burn long enough, though, and I come down in the morning and it's a bit cool. When I burn an entire stove full of wood, though, it seems to stay warmer longer. I say seems because it's hard to be sure since I burn many different types of hardwood, a mixed batch in terms of both density and moisture content.