How to know if a dead tree is safe to fell?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
This is what it appears to look like from the side, leaning left.

attachment.php

DeanBrown3D said:
This is what it appears to look like from the side, leaning left.

attachment.php

If I follow that right the rotted portion is right where the undercut notch would go. If so, why notch it at all? they rot has taken care of the the 'folding' clearance as the tree goes over. Looks like just a normal back cut would do the job. But then I am far from a professional so...

Harry K

It looks like you have a couple of feet of decent trunk under the scar. I'd make my notch and backcut there. Otherwise make your notch right on the scar. But don't try cutting over your head or off a ladder-too dangerous. And if you do attach a rope to it, don't pull on it with a truck. Once had a similar tree in which I set a rope running to my double blocks because it leaned the wrong way. As I was tensioning up the rope with my blocks, it snapped right off and I hadn't even made a cut! Fortunately it fell the right way but the trunk ended up being in even worse shape than it looked. Just be careful.

turnkey4099 said:
If I follow that right the rotted portion is right where the undercut notch would go. If so, why notch it at all? they rot has taken care of the the 'folding' clearance as the tree goes over. Looks like just a normal back cut would do the job. But then I am far from a professional so...

Harry K