How to make chairs out of Siberian Elm?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xraydaniel

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
This is the question as I've never done it before and would like to use them rather than burn them. This was the first time I ever flat cut a log for this purpose. How to dry it? How to begin? Right now I have it sitting in the basement next to a dehumidifier placed just about an hour ago. Thanks for all the help =)

Actually I want to make stools not chairs. Should I let it dry completely then remove the bark?

This is the question as I've never done it before and would like to use them rather than burn them. This was the first time I ever flat cut a log for this purpose. How to dry it? How to begin? Right now I have it sitting in the basement next to a dehumidifier placed just about an hour ago. Thanks for all the help =)

Dont let them dry to fast or they will crack.It seems if you can get enough coats of polyurethane on they wont crack as much.View attachment 210026

Try posting this in the milling section. I am no expert but the theme to wood drying seems to be the same, keep it out of direct sunlight and wind and avoid temperture fluctuations if possible. The slower the better.

Elm is funny wood, it is a bugger to split but will split on it's own when cut into boards. Even crotches will split open a little if dryed to fast.

I think your on the right track leaving those peices in the basement but it will take a long time to dry them. If you want the bark off for your project do it while it is still green. It peels off easier. If you stored them outside the bark will come off on it's own.