Husky 346 or Stihl 261

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

livemusic

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I have a ported 346 and it's a wonderful, strong saw. I probably use it these days more than any saw I have. Most of my trees are not huge. But, for huge, my strongest saw is a ported Stihl 362. I have a 20" bar on it and just bought a 24" for felling/bucking large oaks.

I have an 18" bar/chain on the 346. I think the 261 weighs slightly more. My recollection is that they are close in HP and weight. Assume that both are ported, which would you prefer? I note that the 346 is out of production and parts in the future is a concern to me. The 261 is in production. Also, the 261 is m-tronic, which intrigues me as I am not an expert in mechanic work. What would you want to own? At age 68, I hope to be cutting another ten years!

you're asking the wrong crowd. Keep the 346. There have been no improvements in saws since that saw was produced. More backward steps than forward steps.

you already have arguably the best 50cc saw ever made. If you simply want another 50cc saw, then by all means get the 261. It may be to your liking, but won't be earth shatteringly better than the 346. Not by a long shot.

I don't think you have to worry about 346 parts availability, they'll be around for quite a while. As for me, I prefer the simple version of everything, so the 346 would be my pick, of course with the metal intake clamp rather than the plastic one.

Hello, sir, what clamp is that? I missed that alert, lol.

I do love my 346, just thought I would ask due to parts concern, especially the way this crazy world and economy is circa late 2021.

I've had both stock and ported. I can't complain at all about how that 261 ran. Light, smooth, lots of power, great air filter, switch that turned back on after you kill the engine.