Husky 350 or Stihl 028?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sawjo

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I have an unused Husky 350 with a 20" Carlton Premium Sprocket Tip bar and WoodsmanPRO 28RC. I also have a Stihl 028 Super AV with a new 20" Sabre (Baileys closeout) bar and WoodsmanPRO 20RC. I have gone completely thru the Stihl with a carb kit, rings, new air filter, rubber, oil/gas caps and new rim sprocket/drum. It has 175# of compression and runs and drives perfectly. I used it all weekend and was impressed with it. I was planning on selling the Stihl with the (sudden) acquisition of the Husky 350, but now I am not so sure????? I know I should just keep both and probably will, but if one had to go - which one would you guys keep?

keep the 028

I have no experience with the Husky but I have an 028WB that I've been using for near 20 years and it has never given me a bit of trouble. A very good quality saw as far as I'm concerned. My brother and dad have been through 4 or 5 cheapo saws in this time and my 028 just keeps on cutting.

2 saws is not 1 too many....:)

I'd keep both of them. For what you'll get for the 028 you can't come close to replacing it.

Look at it this way. If you only have the one saw, what would you use to cut the saw out of a tree with when it gets stuck(pinched) into a cut. That back up sure would look handy at a time like that. When i go to play in the woods, I always carry at least 2 saws to my cutting site. Better safe then sorry. Plus I am still learning and make mistakes.

I had one of them Stihl 028 Super AV 's and you will really like it over te 350 husky alot ....If it was me keep the 028 and get rid of the 350 and don't look back....

Allan