Husky 444 top end

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

samarsenault

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi. I'm pretty new to this game and could use some help. Here's the story:

Started cutting with my dad's husqvarna 444 which is probably 20+ years old. Got partway through a cut and the saw died at full throttle. There was still spark and fuel and the pull cord was MUCH easier to pull than usual.

I need to fix this as cheaply as possible because I don't have a big saw budget. A good friend's father owns a local small engine shop and was formerly a husqvarna dealer. He told me to take the cylinder off and bring it in to show him so I did. He said the cylinder itself is in great shape, the piston is just fair (a few scuffs) and the ring was stuck. I went home and removed the ring and gently used a knife to fix up the part of the ring groove it had stuck on as per mechanic's instruction.

He also pointed out that the piston was not pivoting on the connecting rod as smooth as it should and said i better take the bearing out too. I removed the two clips holding the pin in and tapped the pin out and the bearing fell out - in about two dozen little pieces.

I called the local husky dealer and he has the bearing and the ring in stock for less than 30 bucks total. Is this as simple to put back together as it was to take appart and better yet what caused the bearing to go and the ring to stick?

This is my first engine rebuild so no advice is too simple for me right now. Also cost is of the essence. My friend's dad said if the saw was for pro use he would definately put a new piston but if I'm interested in saving the money the old one should work fine for me as I only cut about 2 cords/year.

ENGINE DISPLACEMENT:
44cc (2.68 cu. in.)
NUMBER OF CYLINDERS:
CYLINDER BORE:
42mm (1.654 in.)
PISTON STROKE:
32mm (1.260 in.)
CYLINDER TYPE:
Aluminum with chrome plated bore