Husky 50 Rebuild Questions

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chiefs15

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am working on rebuilding my dad's 1985 Husqvarna 50 Rancher and I'm looking for some guidance as this is my first try at any sort of rebuilding on a saw. He got a new saw and gave this one to me to play around with. The saw runs and seems to have good compression. He bought the saw new and it has not been heavily used through the years. Though, being 35 years old I'm sure it needs some updating. My dad put in a new carb kit and replaced the clutch a few years ago. I'm at the point where I'm trying to determine how much money I want to throw at it to keep it going. I have a newer Stihl that will get the bulk of the work. I mostly want to get this one going for occasional use and I know I'd appreciate the sentimental value down the road and for my son to use.