Husqvarna 268 metal chunks in exhaust

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WoodRaider

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey guys, first post here, I joined up to be the one to query this as I googled my issue and found absolutely nothing.

I have a Husqvarna 268. It's my main firewood saw. I ran it yesterday and cut a ute load of firewood, worked beautifully, as always. My new bar and chains arrive in the mail, happy days! Whacking them on and moving the saw around, I notice a slight rattle coming from the muffler when I jostle the saw. Curious as to what it was, I took the spark arrester off and shook my saw around to see if anything would come out. Sure enough, 3 significant chunks of metal!

20230627_110935.jpg

Now, I'm no chainsaw expert, but to me that seems to suggest a problem. It's my favourite saw so my heart is in my mouth at this point. I took the exhaust off and peered at the cylinder and piston. Seems completely fine to me, but like I said, I'm no expert.

20230627_110957.jpg

Piston and ring.

20230627_111134.jpg
Back wall of the cylinder.

At this point I'm lost. I was expecting it to be a disaster in there. The best part is it definitely has great compression from the feel of pulling it over; no change in compression at all as far as I can tell. Put it all back together and she fired right up and ran like a champion.

Sooo... do I worry about it? I don't really want to pull the whole cylinder off seeing as it's still going fine, and I'm not sure if I'd find a new cylinder or piston even if it needed them, which it doesn't look like it does to me. It's hard to see in my photo, but I noticed the skirt of the piston had a thin layer of oil on it, not sure if that's meant to be the case. Could those chunks be from the piston ring?

Thanks for any insight as to what is going on here, I'm baffled!

Doesn’t look like anything from the cyl.