I am buying equipment and I have a few questions for you veterans.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Curtis James

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I have started my own business and things are going good. Tree work is my passion, yet I do landscaping as well. I am not a huge company. Just a small LLC with no employees. I am purchasing a bobcat or similar machine and trailer. I am wondering if any of you have used a chipper attachment for a bobcat and if you have how well did it work. I have been bringing all my brush to this guys property to burn. I give the logs away for fire wood cause I have no where to keep it. What are your opinions? Do I get the tow behind chipper or the chipper attachment for another machine? I have no experience with the attachment chippers at all. I have used alot of the the other attachments for bobcats just not the chipper type. I have been renting or borrowing chippers and such up until now. It is time I grow. Next year I will have to bite the bullet and hire some help as well. My cousin has a lawn mowing biz and I pay him on occasion if I have to rope anything off. He isn't reliable though. It is nice cause I just 1099 him at the end of the year. I don't even have a employee ID number yet just my social. O.K. guys hit me what do I do next? Oh one more thing . How many of you do your own books? I have been keeping track since June when I first started this and I am debating getting something like quick books. Should I just pay an accountant or get the software? Thanks Curtis J.
Arborist tree care & landscaping LLC

bobcat chippers and stumpgrinder suck imo ...imo always buy purpose built equipmant..for 1 they always work better and 2 the skidsteer attachment chippers and stumpgrinders are way to exspensive...and i have seen them working ,i have demod them both :( both slow and utter rubbish