Is 2 ripping chains enough to start out with milling? And purchase advice!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JasonMS660

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi Gents,
I'm new to CS milling and planning on getting a Alaskan 36" mill. I own a new MS660 and a MS390. I don't plan to do any milling with the 390 though might use it for the mini mill to do the edges. I'm in Australia and own a small 50 ac block and just plan on milling timber for myself, just bridge timbers and stuff for building a barn so just posts and beams etc.
To start out with I was thinking of at 36" bar and 2 ripping chains plus a aux bar oiler. Do you guys think this is enough to get me going?

Thanks in advance Jason
P.S I'm only looking at cutting mostly hardwoods like stringy bark, black wood peppermint gum and Vic ash. I run the saw in well before milling too!

Last edited:
Shure, give it a try and then you can decide if you need more investment in equipment or not.

I'm going through this now. I bought a 30" Alaskan Mill thinking I could use it with my 32" bar. I can ... but I lose too much of the length to get the full capability of the mill. If you go with 36" mill you will need a 42" bar to get full use of the mill so make sure your saw can pull the 42" chain. I will be picking up a 36" bar and chain for my mill this weekend. My saw is a Husqvarna 394 XP.

I'm going through this now. I bought a 30" Alaskan Mill thinking I could use it with my 32" bar. I can ... but I lose too much of the length to get the full capability of the mill. If you go with 36" mill you will need a 42" bar to get full use of the mill so make sure your saw can pull the 42" chain. I will be picking up a 36" bar and chain for my mill this weekend. My saw is a Husqvarna 394 XP.