Jonsered 600+ Questions

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Maine-iacJay

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Im a newbie, and I have some questions, I have a chance to get a Jonsered 600+ in good shape for $500 with no saw, wondering if it is worth it? Also what should I put on for a saw? I know that it will start the stihl vs. husky fight but I would really appreciate any insight. Thanks in advance.:cheers:

Im a newbie, and I have some questions, I have a chance to get a Jonsered 600+ in good shape for $500 with no saw, wondering if it is worth it? Also what should I put on for a saw? I know that it will start the stihl vs. husky fight but I would really appreciate any insight. Thanks in advance.:cheers:

I would post this over in the chainsaw section of arboristsite.com. You will get lots of response there. Personally I know little about Jonsered other than they are a good saw, comparable to the other major players. (I think they are made in same factories as the Husky saws, might be wrong on that one though).

No experience with that mill (I have a logosol) but get the biggest saw you can afford. I'd suggest a 660 or 394. I run a 066 on my mill and wonder how much better an 088 would be.....

The husky dealer I get parts from said the 394/2094 cylinder/parts are the same except for the externals; the castings are a little different, but major stuff is the same; I don't know why Jonsered gave the 2094/2095 a 6.7 HP rating instead of Husqvarna's 7.1 HP. Same displacement, I think. Haven't taken one apart. The same dealer had stopped carrying jonsereds but said he had sold a 2095 powerhead & bar with their pico rip chain to a guy for milling a couple years ago; I talked to the guy, who'd used it in his own rolling jig to make pine beams for timberframing.