Jonsereds 70E

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

trublmakr318

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi new member here, I picked up an old Jonsereds 70E,prob mid 70s, at a yard sale.Im no expert on saws so I figured Id ask you guys.I was trying to get it running today,changed plug,fresh gas. Its getting a good spark and fuel and seems to have stong compression.But the best I got it to do today was sputter a little then died. So I took the plug off and pulled it about 7 times,put plug back in but nothing.
I know it has been sitting for a cpl years.Any suggestions before I take it to a shop? Does anyone have any info on this saw displacement,hp etc?
Thanks

70E

Mid 70ies for a 70E does not ad up, it has to be a bit newer.........

It was replaced by the mainly Husky designed 670 in 1982/-83.

Last edited:
You could try

You could try putting the piston at bottom dead center and filling the plug hole with 1/2 premix and 1/2 automatic transmission fluid and letting it set overnight. On storage many times seals will dry out and get brittle. letting the tranny fluid do it's work sometimes will swell the rubber back up.

After letting the saw sit overnight turn it upside down and drain well slowly turning over the saw to remove all fluid. Then install a new plug and prime carb with a little fuel and see if you can get it running.

Sawtroll thanks for the links. I think I just flooded the crap outa it yesterday. The plug boot was pretty dryrotted too. So I replaced it. I only had a cpl minutes to play with it this morning. 1rst pull I got a little sputter so I though.'Yeah this babys gonna start now",2nd pull turned off the choke and broke the pull rope. I'll get her going sooner or later.

PEST,