just bought my first pro saw ms362

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blairito

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hello I bought a MS362 yesterday for $360 yesterday in good condition, did i get a deal?
the piston looks new upon looking through the exhaust
the bar is a es bar with replaceable tip, it had quite a bit of burrs on it, i have removed the majority before I sliced open my thumb pretty bad and spread blood everywhere in our apt lol, lesson learned, wear proper ppe
being a plumber I should know.
will my ms290 bar and chain fit on it if i switch rim drives from 3/8 to .325?

A 362 has enough power for a 7 tooth 3/8, you might want to go with a 8 tooth or a .325 a 7 tooth with low rakers. I think your 290 will collect a lot of dust. Steve

Personally, I'd stick with a 7 tooth 3/8 setup for that saw. Or an 8 tooth .325. 8 tooth 3/8 would be pretty touchy, and I don't think the clutch would like it very much.

OP, yes, the bar will interchange with your 290 bar. You got, all you need to do is make sure the bar, sprocket, and chain have the same pitch, and that the chain and bar have a matching gauge.

I think you should grab a .325 sprocket for the 362 (left coast supplies has them CHEAP) and see which chain pitch you prefer on the 362. Heck, get a 7 tooth and an 8 tooth while you're at it.

Congrats on the purchase. Sounds like a good deal.

If it's in good shape I'd say so. I got mine a while ago new and paid $7xx for it. I run a 20" everyday and a 25" when needed. Ran the 25" yesterday and will say just remember when going to the 25" let the saw do all the work. I have a tendency to lean on them pretty hard and with the 25" I bogged her down a few times. Great do it all saw in my opinion and it's the only saw I own.
I am looking for a 066/660 though, but in reality my 362 can do everything I need.

Good luck, nice score.