just bought new Stihl ms361

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

509bbc

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
About two or three weeks ago I posted a topic about my old Stihl 044 as being tired, was thinking of rebuilding it. I ended up selling it to a freind of my brother for $400.00. He knew how I took care it so he had no problem buying it. A couple of days ago he said he rebuilt the carb, and put a new piston kit in it with rings and crank seals and new gasket and seal kit. He also did work on the muffler. He said it runs really great now. This guy has a bunch of Stihls. He really likes them. But any way I needed a new saw. I was thinking of getting something a little smaller and lighter. I am no pro just a weekend warrior for stuff on my land. Went to the Stihl dealer. Told him my story. First thing he said was 361. I bought it for $569.00 included a case and a full chisel yellow box chain and some two stroke oil. He had a 20" on it but I asked him if he could put a 18" bar on it with a real chain. He said that shortly Stihl is having a price increase and that this 361 would be like $30 more after the upcoming price increase. This 361 is a very nice saw, good power with this 18" bar setup, smooth, very low vibration, and good power. It does not have the grunt of the 044 as expected but still good power. I am going to assume that it will get better as I put more tanks of gas in it. Also thinking of a muffler mod down the road. I miss my old 044, but this 361 is very nice.

Congradulations on your new saw! I really have the hots for a 361. I have a MS260 and a 044 with a 24" bar so I am not hurting for one. In Illinois where I am the 361's are about $599 so sounds like you did OK. Let us know how the 361 works out for you.

509bbc said: