Kohler vs. Onan vs. Generac????

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rev_2004

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I am looking into purchasing a wholehouse generator. Just curious as to others thoughts on the different brands here. Looking @ 20kw generator. From what I have read else where Onan/Cummins is probably the better of the three. As far as Kohler vs. Generac I keep getting mixed reviews and I am sure some of them are biased opinions. I am aware that Generac controls about 70% of the residential market but, they are also about 10% less. Curious as to wether or not anyone here has personal experience witb them or not?

I am an electrician and was researching getting into selling generators a few years ago. Everything I read about brands for home standby generators came down to one thing, availability of parts and service. Every name brand out there will work just fine if you use it like it is intended to be used. I would go with one that you can get parts and service locally. They all have their weaknesses and strengths.

I looked mostly at kohlers cause that is what my supply house sells. They seam sturdy. The onans I have been around are built very well.

my opinion is to get a Propane/Natural gas generator or 2nd choice diesel and avoid any headaches from bad gas and they will be cheaper to run 24/7 during a power outage! I looking into buying a big unit also but didn't have the cash, I purchased a china knockoff and it has been good. My only complaint is that you need to check the nuts and bolts to make sure they are tight.