log hauler purchase

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jrobinw

Reaction score
Hey guys!

Newbie here. First post.

Congrats on an great site. Amazing wealth of info here for us lurkers. I've been trying to figure out what to get haul large (and medium) sized logs around with. Lookin like I'll probably get one of those Oregon made Arch trailers. That is, if I can round those boys up to answer a few questions and take my order. (I have no equipment to get the trees on or off a truck or trailer).

I'm thinking HUGO so I'll be able to handle that rare 50"+ bigun. TreeGuy said he has a T-40 for his large ones. Anybody have a HUGO and wish they had purchased a smaller one? Anybody have a used Arch trailer for sale over here on the east side (of the country)?

The only other fairly simple option I've wondered about is finding a tilting trailer with winch (car hauler type).

Any thoughts here would be appreciated.

jrw

I have a Hugo, used it before I moved back to the city. Now that I'm here I'm uncomfortable going any distance with a non-DOT trailer.

I got mine ~3 years ago for around 4k delivered. It comes "some assembly required". You will need a site with a fork where the driver can unload. Then you need to put the heavy SOB together. Gopher and I were able to finagle that w/o too much cause for alarm.

If you will be using it for big, long logs then go shell out the extra bucks for the electric winch. The boat winch on the base modle is not really made for that kind of load.

It comes with chians and hooks, but I prefer truck straps to rathcet the load into place.

I really thought the Arch was the solution to all my problems. Got a call from Mark @ FutureForestry yesterday. He doesn't suggest it city/highway driving. So now I'm pack to peg one.