Looking for insights

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

treesquirrel

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
I am a military vet who has decided at the young age of 42 to get into the tree biz.

As a signal corps soldier I did pole climbing and have found that trees are a much easier task. I'm self tutoring about rigging techniques and have decided that to attempt to learn them all is not necessarily required to do this work.

I'd like to hear what particular rigging systems most pro's consider an absolute must in basic tree work.

Currently I am comfortable with the following procedures:

Climbing.....

Spur climbing is a snap for me.

SRT is also a snap due to my previous rock climbing activities.

DRT I am learning and I am most impressed with the trunk walking Ekka promotes.

Rigging.......

I'm using the timber hitch with success for lowering operations however I find myself always backing it up with a fisherman knot on the tail.

I almost always default to clove hitches to attach to limbs etc.. for lowering.

I will use slings and girth hitches for smaller lighter peices.

I have set up zip lines before for traverses across ravines so this is also a snap.

Thanks in advance for your input.

Not too shabby

Sounds like your pretty well off. Learn block and tackle systems, as well as look for port a wrap for lowering butt peices. All should be easily adaptable with your skills. Be careful with the timber hitch, many people dont use it anymore, try something else.

Thanks,

I'll look into alternative for the timber hitch. I've only used this method on a couple of jobs for a few peices that would have struck and damaged property. Always used it in slow controlled application with no dynamic shock to the hitch. I would be more inclined to use some other system in a dynamic setup.