Working with Stenm chunks, rigging/cutting

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

THC

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Gentlemen,

First my back ground. I have been climbing for about 4-5 years without gaffs. I use a single rope method and have been doing this for my needs and friends. All of it is trimming and removal of broken storm damage. I cannot say I would make a pimple on a real tree climbers rear end, however it is good work and I like it. I began this due to storm damage I had on my property and my wife had stopped in the local hardware store where she mentioned what I was doing to a fellow and they sold her a Weaver saddle. I then looked up the industry safety information and bought the Tree workers Handbook, read and have been successful from there.

The problem! Recently tree gaffs have been added to the equipment list, along with a block and sling, a Protawrap and Whoopee sling, and an old 1/2” dia climbing line to use as a rigging rope. The rope is in good condition at this time.

I have four 70 ft high Soft Maples that are essentially 18 to 24 inch diameter poles with a small canopy at the top, one of which is broken over due to storm damage. My customer wants these taken down and they are situated in an area where I do not want to drop the tops, but want a controlled decent of the cut off work pieces.

On my place/property there was a good practice tree that had broken over and was a Black Cherry. Climbing using the gaffs is great! No problem getting into a position in which to use the Arborist chain saw, clear away all of the limbs to prepare for the first 3-400 lb 36” or so long chunk to be cut off and caught by the block for lowering to ground level.

The question is, how do you properly make the back notch cut?? I did not do it right as it took several attempts to get the saw through stem properly.