maple tree bark

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cedarswamper

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I'm new to tree health . I have a young 12' maple tree. I have noticed the bark seems to be splitting and curling in towards the tree. This is happening on the trunk and on the smaller branches all ove the tree some spots are a few feet and some are only inches. What causes this? How can I fix this? I hate to lose the tree. Thanks

Welcome to the site, Cedarswamper.

Could you post pictures of this tree? Without them we would be guessing at best. In the photos, please include a full tree shot, a close up of the base showing how it was planted and close ups of the injuries or damaged tissue.

Any background history you could provide would also be helpful such as chemical use around this tree. Also include orientation (north/south/east/west) information.

The rupturing bark can be anything from "common for the species" to sunscald, herbicide damage, insect damage due to oviposting, and on. Without pictures there is no real way to tell for sure.

Sylvia