Metal detectors

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BobR

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I have been following this forum for a few weeks now and have gleaned a great deal of valuable information during my visits. I am new to milling and have just invested in an Alaskan small Log Mill and purchased a new Stihl 72cc chain saw with 20" bar. I have already milled a small amount of lumber. However, on my first outing I found the dreaded nail that most probably entered the tree about 20 years ago. I have a small metal detector which has rolled over and put it's legs in the air. Before investing in a new one I would like to find out what others are using and how happy thay are with their particular device. Thanks in advance.

Welcome to AS! First batch and found a nail huh? Stinks. Then again you didn't mention actually hitting the nail, so maybe you made out OK?

I actually have been braving it so far with out a detector. Know I should get one though. There are a couple pretty inexpensive ones on HF last time I checked. Not sure of anyone uses any of them on here that can provide a review? I would like to know if the security wand one works...that would certainly be the most portable.

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/displayitem.taf?Itemnumber=43149
http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/displayitem.taf?Itemnumber=43150
http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/displayitem.taf?Itemnumber=94138

Hi Bob,

I have one of These. It's very sensitive and can detect a vertical paper staple under 3mm of wood, a vertical 2" nail under about 2" of wood. It's my understanding that is uses the exact same circuitry as used in some of those larger wandlike metal detectors as used by security guards etc. Those detectors have a few extra stickers on them and cost twice the price.