MS290 Performance

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fordman99

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I'm a little new at this "tinkering with chainsaws"bit.I have owned and ran saws for several years but would like to learn more about the performance end of the saws I own.I've had a little 024av (20") for probably 12 years now,and that baby cuts like a dream!!!...can't seem to bog it down.onthe other hand my newer MS290(20") doesn't seem to compare.I have ran the saws side by side,both with new,sharp chain but the 290 just doesn't have the "top end" so to speak.Is this to be expected or the norm?also is there some carb or exhaust work I could do to get a little more juice out of it?:help:

The 290 is not a good saw, for its weight, and a 20" bar is far too much on a 024AV - try a 13" one.....

Sorry, just had to say it streight out,,,,,,,

I'm a little new at this "tinkering with chainsaws"bit.I have owned and ran saws for several years but would like to learn more about the performance end of the saws I own.I've had a little 024av (20") for probably 12 years now,and that baby cuts like a dream!!!...can't seem to bog it down.onthe other hand my newer MS290(20") doesn't seem to compare.I have ran the saws side by side,both with new,sharp chain but the 290 just doesn't have the "top end" so to speak.Is this to be expected or the norm?also is there some carb or exhaust work I could do to get a little more juice out of it?:help:

does the 290 have a rim & drum setup? maybe a 8 tooth rim, and keep the rpms down.

290 power