MS290 vs 2" knot

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Timber Jim

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello everyone ! Trying to figure out what happen. Cutting through a 12" diameter log w my 18" MS290. I come across a knot, she bogs a bit, gets through it, stalls and would not re -start. Couldn't even pull the cord. The only time cord was operable when the Break was off. No sense taking it apart under warranty (6 weeks old, about 1/8 of a cord on it). Dearler says clutch and break are fried. Sounds like Break may have been partially engaged. Can't see that happening but must have . Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Im an ASE Master Tech and looking at the schematics of this saw the break holding doesn't sell to me . A dull chain is what dealer is saying. (you know I ain't buying that on a 6 week old machine) .:confused:

Hard to say without looking at it.

But you say that you can pull the cord with the "brake" off, well yhen pull the sprocket off and look at it!!!!!!

I dunno, but the saws age has nothing to do with how dull the chain is. Certainly takes less than 6 weeks to dull it. About 5 weeks, 6 days, 23 hours, 59 minutes less to make it useless. :)

Have you got any pictures of the clutch with the cover off? That would help a bunch diagnose your problem. Saws heat up real fast if the brake is on.

Have you got any pictures of the clutch with the cover off? That would help a bunch diagnose your problem. Saws heat up real fast if the brake is on.

They also heat up real bad when the dealer gives you a .325 sprocket for your 3/8 chain and you don't know the difference. Happened to me and I wrecked my engine. 029 super. Told me they don't make 029 with a 3/8 sprocket when I returned it. I beg to differ