MS660 or 070

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tim_10

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I'm new to CS milling and need some advice from forum members.
Milling product is a Granberg 36" Mark IV. Not sure I will ever need the full 36" but I got it just in case I need it.
Was planning on using a Poulan 8500 to mill with but was advised by other forum members to not use it so I'm taking a step back and looking at my other options.
I plan on milling currently Beetle Kill Pine and Pistachio.
Browsing through my local area CL I've came across a Stihl MS 660 with 36" bar (stock) for $800 and a Stihl 070 with 30" bar (with a 090 piston and cylinder) for $650.
What do you think would suit me best? Also what chain would be best to mill those types of wood?
Thank you all in advance for the advice!

I say get the biggest saw possible! I have a 661 with a 36" bar and I'm considering upgrading. The saw does fine but I've had several logs I needed a bigger bar. The 661 has plenty of power but the bigger saws have better torque and oilers for the long bars. I'd love to grab an 090 or something similar. I use mostly Stihl chain but also have a few loops of Carlton ripping chain. Both work well. The Carlton leaves a smoother cut.

Sent from my Moto E (4) using Tapatalk

. . . . Not sure I will ever need the full 36" but I got it just in case I need it.
Odds are you will need it.

What do you think would suit me best?
It really depends on the conditions of the saws.
Ordinarily I would recommend the 661, lighter and enough power for a 36" bar (30" max cut") but if it's been hammered it will not last long and not cut all that well.
Like wise the 090 - its been modified, how confident of them having done a good job of this are you?
It would really come into its own in bigger wood but you are going to be much more tired at the end of any milling day using it