Muffler Mod Where and How Much?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ChillyB

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Mostly I read to open up internal restrictions and make the exit hole bigger and/or more numerous. I have this nagging suspicion that while performance may improve by a seemingly haphazard approach, the mods may be far from optimized.

Will a big hole dead-center in front of the exhaust port perform the same as the same size hole coming out the side?

Will a hole hogged in top right corner perform the same as a pipe welded in same location that extends half the depth back into the muffler shell?

How does optimal exit size relate to displacement?

I dont see much information on correct way to mod a muffler to more or less optimize a muffler mod, mostly just remove screen, get out the drill. Are some methods better than others?

I'm not an expert on the subject, but do dabble in porting and exhaust modifications. My understanding is that saw mufflers don't really have a scavenging function like the expansion chamber on a dirt bike or kart engine.
The exhaust is so short, I just assume it's best to empty the exhaust as quickly as possible. I put a hole as close to inline with the exhaust port. I've heard numbers for the exhaust outlet sizes ranging from 70-90% of the exhaust port.

I've just resorted to picking a number based on how much noise I can live with. Some of my saws are at 100%, some are at 70%. My little climbing saws aren't that loud to begin with, so I go with a big outlet area. On the other hand, I'm more conservative on my 880...I even moved the hole off to the side of the front of the muffler cover, in order to "hide" it further behind the deflector I made. It's still loud, but nothing that ear muffs or good plugs can't kill.