need a good chip truck/chipper

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
You said you have 100k, why start with a chip truck? I am sure you could buy a used truck with a box and a High Ranger boom along with a used Whisper chipper and still have money to fill up the toolboxes with gear. Hit the ground running....

what kind of chipper should i get disk style or drum style and how much help is a hydraulic loader do they really help or are the a pain in the ass to operate

to start a NEW co. i would get used but not abused A 12 inch chipper 14 foot chip truck with nuckle boom crane and small stump grinder 30 hp see how it goes and build company from there because you will nead deposites for insurance comp and liabilty also a little capital to work with payroll ect. good luck

disk or drum

I have a lot of experience with both disk style chippers and drum style chippers. If I were you I would go with a drum style chipper. It is easier to change the blades and the machine is more compact and weighs less. Drum chippers also usually have a larger chipping capacity. Do your homework and find the best chipper that fits your needs. If you are buying used be very careful. Most people beat the crap out of there chippers. It is the nature of the business. Some people will maintain there machines very well even if they are used to their full potiential. Just be very careful buying used. I am currently in the market for a new 15 inch capacity chipper and I am going to go with the Woodsman 15x. I looked at Morbark, Bandit, Vermeer and Woodsman. All these manufacturers put out good products but I felt that the Woodsman 15x was the best built and most durable chipper in that class. That is just my opinion. You might also think about getting a chipper with a winch. I hope this post helps you out. Give me a shout if you need any more input. DFD34

DFD34 said: