Need Advice

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nwiajonj

Reaction score
Hello...

I have a couple questions.....

I have a hackberry, 90 yrs old, splitting down the main trunk, I've been thinking about some kind of band and/or chains to try and hold it together. Maybe above the split, pull the main branches back together. Would that work? Are there specific tools or methods that are applicable to this problem?

I have a nice maple, 12 years old. It keeps growing suckers at the ground level. I've cut them off, broke them off, but they just keep coming back. Some one told me to put "Roundup" on the cuts, and that would eliminate the problem. (My apologies to those with weak hearts.) I'm a farmer, and this sounds a little scary to me. Can we make them go away?

This is my first post on this great site, sorry if it's in the wrong place.

Jon J

Hey Farmer Jon! Welcom to the site.

As you should know Glyphosate is an All Vegitation Killer. So roundup will translocate to the roots and do damage.

If the tree si burried too deep it may be sending up sprouts to help the roots breath.

Does the trunk look like a post in the ground, or is there a nice flair where you can see the transition from trunk to root?

If it is too deep, excavation may be nessesary to save it.

As for chemical sucker control, an NAA product like "sucker stopper" workes very well.

For the hackberry, what you propose is more like a ligature then a brace. The growing and circulatory part of a tree si the cambium, right undre the bark.

A band or chain will choke the trees vascular system and eventually kill it.

Waht arborists do is cable the top and brace the crack with several rods staggered through the trunk.

On a large tree it is best to hire an experianced professional.