New Grapple

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stihl310

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
Being a mechanical engineer, I seem to always have projects going on at home. If I need a piece of equipment I just design it and then build it. This is the latest addition to our pile of equipment. Looked at a lot of grapples, seems anything at the $1k range wasn't going to hold up for us, and I wasn't about to pay what Deere wants. So it began, design took me about a month to get all dialed in, then another month for plasma cutting the parts.

Ended up installing a divert valve on the tractor then wired in a push button switch to flip the solenoids on or off. Unplugged my bucket tilt, then jumped the fluid to my solenoid valves, wired the one side NO off the relay and the other side NC. Plugged bucket tilt in to one side of this valve and grapple to other side. This way bucket tilt would still operate as it always has, tilt joystick left bucket up tilt it right bucket down. To operate my grapple I push the button which flips which solenoid is engaged (push button is mounted within my joystick ergo grip so I can push it w my thumb). Now my left joystick opens the grapple and right joystick closes it.

Works great and was way cheaper than buying all the hydraulic valves and controls from Deere. Can't wait to put it to work this winter.

Attached are some pics of right after I got it hooked up.

0428c0771153e4379095c049fdcdb326.jpg
e1fe6e683815187a05157a91c5c8e8fc.jpg
601afd865c62abbd8f09528167afce34.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Looks really nice and well thought out. You know orange paint would have made it twice as strong and able to pick up twice as much?

:) ... My buddy told me the same thing but with red... He's an IH guy.