New jug on MS170?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tostuk

Reaction score
So it's my first time trying to resurrect a chainsaw. Bought this fairly new MS170 off a guy that had straight gas ran in it by accident, I hope the cylinder is reusable because I'm not really looking to pay a lot for the parts. I'll use it for parts in that case.

The pics are here:
From the images it doesn't look so good but the surface is really smooth. There's just 1 minor scratch/aluminium deposit that I could barely feel with my finger which is on the intake side and above the intake. From the picture I can see some aluminium below the intake also but with the naked eye I couldn't see it.

If it's reusable then would it be more of a temporary fix or would run for a good while?

Only way to find out is to start cleaning off the transfer, see what you have left.
If there is nothing gone through the interior coating, no rough grooves you can catch a fingernail on, you might be good to go. You want to clean that big chunk of carbon off the exhaust post while you are at it, maybe polish up the port surfaces a bit so the carbon does not build up again while you are in there.
I had a 170 I basically wore out. I was lucky enough to find someone unlucky that had a low hour 180 they finished cutting with, sat the saw down, had a bite to eat and then decide to shift their trailer closer to the wood pile and backed over the saw that was waiting on the ground! Busted up the plastics bad, not worth replacement/repair, but the motor was okay- so my 170 became an OEM 180.
That is about the only way repairing one of these becomes economic if you want to use OEM parts.

There are cheap AM kits out there for these, are they any good? Possibly not great, but they will make something that will run for very little cash outlay- depends if that is a gamble you are willing to take.