New member with saw issues

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

that guy

Ditch Digger
Reaction score
I finally joined after using this forum for a long time to get "real" saw reviews and repair tips.

I'm a heavy equipment operator and electrician by trade. I also do firewood on the side. I started out cutting and hand splitting 50+ chords a year. I do considerably less now, but did acquire a splitter.

I work for a small construction company my family owns. We get into a lot of site clearing. I recently restored an 031 as a backup for a problematic ms280. We also have a 044 made in West Germany.

The 031 was shelved decades ago by my grandfather after finding out what it would cost to replace the handle and get it running again. The intent was to repair it someday. I got it all fixed up and looking good. It cuts great, idles, and crisp on the throttle. The issue is when turned on its side it won't rev up. It bogs and eventually dies. If revved up then turned on its side, I can cut as long as I keep the rpm up. Anyone have any clue why? It runs/cuts great upright. Also is there a remedy for the ms280 buffer issue? I'm getting tired of replacing buffers and intake boots.

Check the fuel line, they get soft with age and fold over when you turn them on thier side.

Can you change the tune so it runs on the current "bad side" and races on the "good side"? If so, a crank seal is bad

Yes there is a dude that makes stiffiners for the ms270/280 anti vibe bushings.can't remember who though.they are good saws just need improvements.

Thanks guys I'll check the fuel line again since I did swap the tank and I'll test for the crank seal today. I'm hoping it's the fuel line. Right now the ms280 is on the bench with a torn intake boot. I got a couple chords worth of locus to cut up. I'd rather rock the 044 anyway :rock: