New Saw - Need Chains / sprocket

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kfons

Reaction score
I just got my first saw, a used Stihl 026 (not Pro). It currently has a .325 X .063 X 67 drive tooth chain.
An Arborist friend suggested I go to a 8 tooth sprocket with a semi chisel chain. My saw has a RIM procket no the star shaped one,
1) Can I / SHould I change from a 7 to 8 spline sprocket?
2) If I do this, does this have an effect on the chain length / number of Drive teeth?
3) Where can I get the 8T sprocket?
4) How tight should the chain be? (sorry I'm a total newbie)?

Kevin

You can get an 8 tooth rim, either from the Stihl dealership, or you can go aftermarket from Baileys (site sponsor.) Switching over may or may not necessitate more drive links, it depends on whether or not the chain you are using is new or used. I would recommend you starting out with some RM chain, you wont notice much difference in cutting speed, but the RM is a little more forgiving to "operator error."

As for tightness, mount the chain and bar, put the clutch cover on and loosely install the bar nuts. Now, pull up on the bar, and insert your scrench into the adjuster hole and crank until you take up the slack from the bottom of the bar. Tighten the bar nuts, and if you can pull no more then 3 or 4 drive links clear from the top of the bar, you are good to go. Keep in mind, the chain will stretch as it gets warm, and will also stretch a little when its new. So you must recheck tension after cutting for a few, and then remember to loosen it up when you are done.

Switching over to RS chain will cut allot faster, but you must pay more attention to where any dirt is, RS does not like coming into contact with terra firma! Other than that, it sharpens with the same file.

kfons said: