new tree farm

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jmacd

Reaction score
Let me introduce myself. I live in upstate NY and own a excavating company. I also have some land that I am devoting to a tree farm. I am completely green so I am in the learning stages.

What types of trees are best to plant? What other products do you see mostly sold at tree farms. I am thing landscaping supplies, hard scape's etc. Any info or advise would be appreciated. Are any of you guys doing the same thing? thanks

Are there any forums that are specific to this type of biz?

Welcome

Welcome. I am a very frequent lurker here, but don't say much because I'm not an expert on much.

Where in upstate are you located? I would join the NY Christmas tree growers association for more info.

Bill

The best advice would be to contact a forester in your area. Even your state forester may help.

Each tree grows better on different soils. For example, Walnut and burr oak grow best on floodplains, white oak and sugar maple like the upland soils. A forester can tell you what trees to plan and where, how dense you should plant them, when you should thing them, and a source for seedlings. Basically they know it all.

thanks for the advise. Since posting this I have spent a lot of time searching for info and have found quite a bit. The Internet is amazing when it comes to finding info!

I think I will start with evergreens and then ornamental looking forward to another challenge.

http://cce.cornell.edu/AG/Pages/default.aspx

Stop in or call your local extension.

They will set ya up with a bunch of info, and names of folks over that the USDA/NRCS local office, that will also help out immensely.
Lots of first time farmer programs and educational classes are available, as well as finance programs.

Also get ahold of your local Farm Bureau office.