Newbie 066 Project saw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NuggyBuggy

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
In another thread I mentioned that I was gifted a project 066. Dealer had quoted replacement of cylinder and piston, clutch, carb, bar, recoil and a whole bunch of other smaller stuff. The biggie was the cylinder and piston which we were told were badly scored.

I started thinking about rebuilding with aftermarket parts as I can't afford OEM at the prices I was quoted, but I figured I ought to take a look first.

The first thing I noticed was that the cylinder had not been removed - there was a thick layer of dirt covering the cylinder bolts that was undisturbed. So I figured the scoring must have been bad enough to be visible through the exhaust.

I pulled the muffler. I'm a newbie, but I do have a few project saws that I've torn apart, and this piston does not look nearly as bad as some pistons I've seen, but maybe it's still obviously bad *enough*. After trying to clear the sheen of oil on the piston by sticking a Kleenex through the exhaust port, I think I can even see very regular lines horizontal to the travel of the piston which look almost like machining. Should I be able to see this or should the surface of the piston be perfectly smooth ?

Unfortunately, I couldn't pull the cylinder since I don't have a Torx driver on hand that will fit through the access holes, so I couldn't investigate further. I'll do this in a few days and detail what I find.

I know that there are tests (e.g. compression/pressure/vacuum) that I will want to do to really know where things are at.