Newbie Here and Looking for a Project

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mattgatten

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
New here, love the site.

Ok, I just recently picked up a nicely running Stihl 026 and absolutely love it. I've ran cheap saws before but this is the first nicer one that I have owned. It could use a little TLC but it's my only saw and I'm always on the hunt for wood for my woodturning. I'm dying to give it a good 'going over' and get it looking really good too. However, since it's my only one, I know the minute I start any work on it, I'll get a call to go cut up some wood!

With that, where are some good places to go looking for a project saw? I would like to find something with more displacement than the 026 but not go crazy and pick up a 066 or something like that.

Any suggestions? Also, if you have any decent candidates that won't kill my wallet (just to get the saw), shoot me a PM or reply here.

Thanks guys. Awesome site!

Well, the best place to hit up for a project saw online is either the Trading post on here or try fleebay. Garage sales, or talk to people you know that know people that know people. As your local Saw shop(s?) if they have any old saws. :cheers: Oh, Welcome to the addiction!

Thanks. I've got a great Stihl dealer and mechanic here in town and they put up with a lot of my questions. I had them look my 026 over and they told me 'I done good' with it. So I'm inclined to stay with Stihl based on the service I can get so close to me. With that, what is a logical step up from the 026. (Hope I'm not opening a can of worms here). Nothing too rare. Something that has parts semi-easy to find. haha

Thanks in advance guys,
Matt