Newbie here!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tpyke

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi guys, great forum...great smilys too!:chainsaw:

This is going to be my second year cutting down trees to heat during the winter. So far, to get wood, I would go out with a buddy who owned a saw and a truck or a trailer and we would share the task....one would cut while the other one loads and then we split the wood once we're done. It will also be my second year in my first house, which can help you understand why I didn't just go out and buy a hitch and a trailer or a truck plus the chainsaw....I already had enough expenses, as all you homeowners can remember during your first years. I'll eventually get fully equipped to be self-sufficient in wood acquiring, but I have to start with one thing at a time. Of course, I started with the funnest thing, the chain saw!
This new toy has opened up a bunch of questions for me, and when I ask people everyone has their own opinion which always seems to contradict the last opinion I got, so I decided to search the net for some experts and found you guys! I've been reading your forum since this morning...so much info!
All of this to say that this forum and the people who make it happen is very appreciated!:cheers: Also, go easy on me and my questions, I'm just starting(and yes, I will try the "search" function first!:biggrinbounce2: )

Welcome! I bought my first chainsaw while I was still living in a studio apartment:), actually a couple of months before we moved out. All the other tools could wait, but not that one:D I remember starting the thing up with the windows open lol

How much wood did you use last year?