Newbie Project 365 Special

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

steyraug223

Reaction score
Hi guys. First post here after reading for years. I have several saws, mostly of the orange variety, with a little blue and creamsicle in the bunch too. I recently bought my first true "project saw"--complete but non-running really cheap from a rental outfit.

This is a 2003 Husky 365 Special with closed transfer ports, side chain adjust, translucent fuel tank, Walbro HD carb, and clamp-on intake boot. The piston (and, by the looks of the bore, probably the cylinder) are trashed. My intention is to use a 52 mm big bore P/C kit from Bailey's or Northwood and rebuild/replace anything else that needs it.

So far I have everything apart down to the bare case and debating splitting it while I'm at it. I am taking inventory of parts/tools I need to gather. I am a skilled mechanic when it comes to wheeled (or floating) vehicles. This is, however, my first real chainsaw rebuild and I want to learn while building a screaming, reliable work saw. I'm taking the time to meticulously clean every part along the way. So, here's my first list of questions to get started. Sorry there are so many.

Is there any difference (other than price) in these 365/372 big bore kits available from the big name site sponsors?

Are there any good tests I can perform for crank/bearings/seals without splitting cases and, if not, what tools would I need to pull clutch/flywheel and split cases? I do not have a press for reassembly; but I can use one if needed.

Cylinder gasket or no cylinder gasket? I think I know the answer most will give; but, would I be safe on squish with these Chinese kits?