OK old timers...Homelite vs. McCulloch

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

weimedog

Addicted to ArboristSite
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
What do you think?

I have limited experience with old McCullochs, an old 1-51 and my 797. I did have one of those mini 320's for a long time that had its ignition die after about 10 years....scrap heaped it.

I have had my Homelite XL-12 and Homelite Super XL since the begining of time it seems (my sumer jobs in College). For years and years, they have never failed and I STILL use them. They fire at all temps summer or winter. The XL-12 has run with a scored piston for the last 10 years at least..still cuts well and fires easy. The Super XL looks great inside the cylinder and out...even after countless hours of hard use.

This XL800 I ran into and bought seems to be of the same ilk. Easy to start. Cuts way better than I would have expected. It has moved my Husky 365 to second place in my stack of saws to pick for real work for now. (no kidding..its easier to live with..easier to start cold and restart hot, same weight, and more flexible when pushed with its real low RPM grunt capability)

That McCulloch 1-51 (aprox 80cc & in good condition) by contrast was a pain in the butt. Harder to start, slower reving, much heavier, and not as much power as the same sized & same vintage Homelite (my 82cc XL800).