One Bad Year So Far

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

opieone

Reaction score
JUST A WAY OF REMINDING ALL OF YOU TO BE SAFE OUT THERE.
I HAVE BEEN TRIMMING TREES FOR ELEVEN YEARS NOW
AND I AM ALSO A FULL TIME FIREFIGHTER. THE COMBO OF THE TWO ALLOW ME TO DO BOTH WITHOUT ANY COMPLICATIONS.
IN FEB. OF THIS YEAR I WAS TOPPING OUT AN ASH TREE, WHEN I WENT TO DO A SIMPLE LIMB TRANSFER AND UNDID MY BUCK STRAP AND STEPPED ONTO A DEAD LIMB AND LOST IT. THE RESULTS OF THAT, I FELL 35 FEET TURNED TWO CARTWHEELS IN MID-AIR AND LANDED ON A 18 INCH LOG ON THE GROUND. IN THE PROCESS OF THE FALL I PUT MY TWO INCH GAF IN MY RIGHT KNEE AND GOT BLACK AND BLUE FROM HEAD TO TOE.
AND TWO WEEKS AGO WHILE TOPPING A PISS ELM I PUT MY STILH 20T INTO MY LEFT FOREARM AT FULL THROTLE TOOK HER RIGHT TO THE BONE. FORTUNE HAS IT THAT NIETHER OF THESE
INJURY'S HAVE SERIOUSLY INJURED ME TO THE POINT OF NO RETURN AND WHAT DOESN'T KILL US ONLY MAKES US STRONGER.
JUST THOUGHT I WOULD LET YOU KNOW HOW MY YEAR HAS BEEN, BE SAFE OUT THERE AND REMEMBER THAT SAFETY ACC. AIN'T JUST TO MAKE YOU LOOK PRETTY.
LOOK FORWARD TO YOUR REPLY'S THANKS, BRAD

Glad you are alright opie.
A few things. Always stay tied in. Hold your saw with two hands. Get The Tree Climbers Companion, and read it cover to cover repeatedly until you know the material, then try climbing.
Both these accidents where preventable, had you followed the information in the book.
Oh yea, don't top trees, unless you are removing them.

It`s difficult trying to work a limbing saw in the tree with both mitts on it at times, I hate working the saw one handed but sometimes I find it safer to use one hand than over extend my body.
You need to be aware, have the proper grip on the saw, be in full control at all times and be extremely careful.

Brad,