Opinions wanted: Hazard oak tree felling

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mboln52000

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hello all,
I am a professional by no means, but I have been cutting wood for heat for 20+ years, and for the past 10 or so I have timbered several trees for my wood working hobby. When i cut for that, and almost all the time, i use the bore-method....notch, leave a hinge, bore, then cut the back strap....never fails me. But, I am in the process of clearing out an old fencrow and there is a pin oak tree about 48" or so across. Usually no problem, but this tree is hollow, and even worse than that, one side of the base of the trunk is open about 40% around the tree. I am very sure that halfway through cutting, or even less, its going to split, and shoot in some unknown direction. Anybody have any ideas on how i can control the drop of this monster??

Thanks,
Matt

Rope it.
You said that it is in a fence row-do you have room for it to be 'off a bit' in its fall? If you just have to get it to go in a general direction it shouldn't be hard to do with a single, tensioned rope rigged up in the canopy. If the window is smaller things get more complex.

There is nothing safer than hooking a 3/8s or 1/2 wire rope to it and the other end to a truck or some kind of heavy equipment. The key with pulling a tree over is get the cable high enough on the tree so it doesn't pull the bottom out.

If there is enough meat on the front where you can cut a decent mouth on it then back cut it till you feel its safe then start pulling like hell on the cable. Once she is starting to fall you have to keep tension on the cable so it pulls the tree straight down and prevent it falling sideways.