Pics of A Little Loggin'

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sILlogger

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
running the 460 that i got a while back...haven't got to run it much since most places are under water around here. so i've been in the process of getting it the way i want it. anyway here are a few pics..This is all old strip mine ground...It was prolly mined 40-60 years ago...not sure.. just guessing.. cottonwood is usually the first trees to grow back on these sites and then they set the basis for Pin oak and sycamore. All the trees i cut were cottonwoods. just about everything out there as thorns or prickles on it....it will tear the sh*t out of you..and there are places where i was crawling to get through it.

this was for a small time sawmiller that ive been helping for several years(which is how i got my start in logging) nothing special but some buddies where there waiting for me to get some so we could take the 4-wheelers out and play in the mud so they took some pics..

btw..i really like the new hardhat...and the red earplugs that i got from Baileys are great!! really quiet everything down and are comfortable

hope you'al enjoy
001jpg.jpg

002jpg-1.jpg

003jpg.jpg

004jpg.jpg

005jpg.jpg

006jpg.jpg

007jpg.jpg

008jpg.jpg

Nice pics. What will the saw mill owner use the cotton wood for? Pulp wood? I have never really seen anything made out of only cotton wood.

I have always been amassed at how fast cottonwood trees can grow though. I have seen some real giants that were only 40 to 50 years old (counting rings).

alot of times cottonwood will be used for pallets...they also use them for mine timbers (mix them in with hardwood) yea cottonwood grows fast..i actually like cutting it...especially if im getting paid scale...one of the best i've done was 67,000 bdft in 2.5 days. made for a decent paycheck.

I've cut some decent ones