Porting 394 cyl

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

parrisw

Tree Freak
Reaction score
Hey, just got another cylinder for my 394 project, I am doing a little mild porting. So far I've just smoothed the transfers out, getting rid of the big lip there, and just blending it in. What is the best to do so there isn't a edge for a ring to catch on. I'm also planning on going without a base gasket. Should I raise the exhaust as well to compensate. This is my first attempt at porting a Chainsaw, so any tips would be great. I don't want to go to wild for my first time. Defiantly don't want to ruin a 394 cyl.

I haven't ever ported a saw...but have read quite a bit on it and I am about to try a saw soon...anyways, the ring should not catch as along as you are making the transitions smooth with no sharp edges or awkwardness. I wouldn't be touching the transfers for a mild porting besides just a lite smoothing. If you are gonna go without a base gasket, make sure you check the squish before you run it. .2 is very common. Anything under .17 is getting tight. As for raising the exhaust, it is usually not done because the reason you are leaving it out is for more compression and torque. Raising the exhaust puts you back to stock. However, i have read sometimes the exhaust needs to be raised to run optimally. Usually it is fine because you widened the port for flow.

.2 is very sloppy, .17 is very sloppy. but .020 will serve you well. Though you gain torque buy leaveing exhaust below stock the RPM loss will mean slower cutting times unless you run longer bars.

Last edited:
:agree2:

Do a search, here and elswhere, about porting a chainsaw cylinder and you should find more info than you can digest in one night...:)