Pro Mac 610 Oiler

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

3000 FPS

Dirt Roads are fine by me.
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
First I am new and the name is Roger. Yes I do like rifles that shoot close to or more than 3000 FPS. This is a great site and from what I have read you all look like a great group here. Now onto chainsaw buisness. I have a McCulloch 610 that I recently bought and the oiler did not work. I took it apart and blew out all the orifices and now the manual oiler is really pumping oil good. On the auto part of it with the adjustment all the way out for maximum it just puts out small drops at a time. What I would like to know is what is normal for an output from the small hole down by the sprocket coming from the oiler. I have never worked on a chainsaw before and do not know what is normal. It could be that it is fixed or it could be that I need a new pump. Look forward to responses.

Near as I can tell the manual oiler and the pulse driven automatic oiler are fairly separate. They share the inlet and outlet and are in the same plastic housing, but other than that not much. I had one in exactly the same state, and I got the manual part working but only got a little from the automatic part. I had also blown it out with compressed air, and I damaged a check valve - or it may have been damaged already and I just blew out the part. I'm guessing it was some kind of a rubber bit and it left the premises under air pressure.

My advice is to get a new one with a gasket. I think I got one off ebay. They do pump pretty well when they are working, and while I've been known to take all manner of things apart, that plastic pump is not going to be repairable. I keep meaning to cut the old one apart to see how it's supposed to work.