Prunning back very overgrown apple and pear trees

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jeep

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am a novice and have a dozen or more old and big (20' approx) apple and pear trees that I would like to make as productive as possible. They all produce lots of fruit but most of it is very wormy. The deer are their main consumers. I was wondering if proper pruning would in any way make the trees have less wormy fruit. Or would I be just as well off to leave them alone? We pick a few bags of fruit that have avoided the worms and leave the rest to the deer. I'd like to increase the amount of good fruit but never at the expense of using chemicals. I am happy to put in the work of pruning but don't use chemicals. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance to any one who wishes to take the time to advise me. jeep

Check you pm's

You say a dozen or so, my pm asked how big your orchard was, but I mean more specifically how far are the trees apart? how much area does it occupy?

We do many projects every year to increase production of fruit trees- The best commercial tree facilities have apples growing between 4' and 6' in height the majority less than above head height, repetitive stress injury...

Post pictures on your next posting so recommendations can be made based upon your trees---

Thanx

the pruning needed by those trees, as Outonalimbts was inquiring about, (heavily overgrown and which will take several pruning cycles to correct), is probably beyond you, unless you have some level of expertise, and previous experience. not to say you can't do it, but it ain't no picnic, and not easy to just type a scope of work up.

call around to some orchards, and ask if you could volunteer to help them prune in exchange for "training".