Question on Pin Oak

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KidGloveTree

Reaction score
I am a self taught tree care professional out of Northern Arkansas, and though I don't have ISA certification yet, I plan to get it soon. But a question came up on the last job, and I need some help. An established customer of mine wanted me to trim some dead wood out of his Pin Oak, but I got to looking at it, and wanted to get an opinion on it before I did anything. Some background: the tree is 80+ feet tall, and a fairly open shape. It stands about 80 feet from the house, and is open to a field on the West side, so it has full sun from noon on. It has never been trimmed, as far as I can tell from my 5 years experience. 4 years ago a water line was trenched in 5 feet from the base, and then a gravel drive was installed about 10 feet away from the trunk, both on the West side. Last year the homeowner re-directed some water off of the hill, causing it to pool around the southern base of the tree. It's almost always wet now. Now for the the problem I'm seeing. The ends of all the limbs on the western side are have no leaves on them. That being the full sun side, it seemed odd for them to be dying back. This goes all the way to the top, and since there is very little other dead wood, it really stood out. My theory is that the cut roots from the trenching weakened the structure underground, and then the soil compaction and water is cutting off the air supply, thus forcing the tree to die back on the side most affected by the damage. But since I don't have the tree biology training, I need professional advice. Let me know if photos wold help, and I can e-mail them to you. I would really appreciate any help you could give! Thanks in advance!

Welcome to the site, Kid.