Raising the bar. Peltor radio headsets.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gerasimek

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
If you don't want to make alot of money in a safe work environment, don't bother reading this.
If you consider yourself a professional, read on.
I've been using the Peltor Radio headsets for 7 years now and I have never seen nor heard of anyone else using them. Why? The expense? At $500 a set they're not cheap by any means, but the benefits far outweigh the price.
You can use an old 2-man crosscut to fell a tree or you can invest money in a chainsaw and make your business more efficient. I bet 100% of you use chainsaws over crosscuts. (unless, of course, you're competing in a crosscut competition)
Who has had the aggravating experience of being up in a leafy canopy waiting for a groundie to look up so you can do some sign language that you hope he can understand if he even sees it? Who here has tried to yell loud enough from the top of a tree to get a groundie's attention while he's running a saw? I'll tell you...everyone without wireless communications.
Consider the benefits of giving a command at any moment and knowing that it will be heard loud and clear, even if you can't see the person you're talking to. Imagine teaching the new guy to operate the bucket truck or any piece of equipment. You can just talk him through it. He doesn't have to make eye contact with you or lift his ear protection. Telling the guy pulling the tree with the bobcat to pull harder or to slow down. Warning a worker of a danger that he can't see...instantly. I can go on and on.
I just wanted to open this discussion to raise the bar. Wireless communications are the safest, most efficient tool for what we do. I wouldn't work without them.
Gerasimek