Re-assembly of Husqvarna 50 (51/55) need timing and muff mod advice

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thefarmboy21

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Since before Easter I've been working on my Papaws late 80's model 50 Husky. I'm a pretty decent engine mechanic...but 2-strokes turned out to be more than I bargained for haha. Anyway, the saw had a ruined piston and cylinder, had them off in less than 20 minutes. 10 minutes and $23 on eBay later, new P&C kit on it's way straight from china. While waiting the 3 weeks it took to show up, I decided to look into some mods (here's where I learned it was over my head) I had no idea up to this point how all the ports and transfers made everyhing function and changed the timing. I also learned that since the original parts were only scared on the exhaust side, that it was likely that a 30 year old seal had finally failed and sucked air. "CRAP.....I really didn't want to split the case!" A few homemade tools, some JB weld and several lessons learned later and it's now back to an assembled case/crankshaft again. So here's where I need some help:

1. How much resistance should the crankshaft have in the case while turning to by hand? No flywheel or clutch, just bare shaft in the case.

2. What kind of timing specs should I shoot for? It's just a firewood/farm saw but I want it to run at it potential. And yes, I do have a degree wheel.

3. Does anyone have any photos and/or tips for a muff mod on this particular saw? The 50 muffler appears to be even more restricted than the 55's AND I'm not sure what to do with this massive baffle inside the muffler or what size outlet to give it.

4. After some minor mods, is it beneficial to use a different spark plug than OEM spec? I think the book actually calls for a champion which suprised me because I figured it would be NGK.