Saw dies soon after starting - dealer says scored.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

esean

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Trying to help a friend with a lightly used Stihl MS192T. Saw will start, but dies after 10-60 seconds of idling. Will start to rev just a little if you ease very gently into the throttle, but too much kills it immediately. Idle speed seems fine. Adjusted L but no difference. Dealer told him it looks like it was scored from straight gas, which owner denies, but he did probably use E10 that sat too long. I pulled the muffler and could see some light scratches on the piston, and possibly a slight bit of transfer on the cylinder, but nothing like the pics I've seen here of saws that are obviously toasted. I don't currently have the saw to get pics.

Owner said the saw was running fine the last time used, which was a couple of months ago. I'm new to saw repair and diagnosis, but this sounds like a fuel system problem to me, especially given the history of using old ethanol gas. Are these symptoms consistent with scoring? Would a good compression test rule out scoring?

Thanks!

The owner has the saw so I don't have quick access for pics. Don't know exact fuel age, just know he used E10, never paid attention to how old it was, ran the saw infrequently over 7 years, and never drained the saw - so it's a safe bet the fuel got pretty stale at times.

The owner has the saw so I don't have quick access for pics. Don't know exact fuel age, just know he used E10, never paid attention to how old it was, ran the saw infrequently over 7 years, and never drained the saw - so it's a safe bet the fuel got pretty stale at times.
Pics are key to online diagnose!

Sometimes, just adding a liquid carb cleaner into the tank and let it run/sit a few times will do the trick. Otherwise take the carb off, clean it and reinstall. Tune accordingly.