saw troubles

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Outdoorguy1979

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
ok so some of you know im a hobby builder and seller of used chainsaws, well im running into some troubles and cant seem to find an answer.
question 1 I have a used stihl 039 chainsaw I do think its 60 cc, I have rebuilt the carb, put new fuel filter, fuel lines, inpuse line, and a intake boot on the saw. the saw has over 150 psi in the cylinder also , so here is my problem I cant get the carb adjusted right doe to a air leak, at least that's what I think. if I spray starting fuid on the back side of the carb where is bolts to the intake boot it boggs down. from what I have read the intake boot acts like a gasket so im wondering if I can cut out and use some form a gasket on it ? and someone said to put a little red gasket maker on the boot then bolt the carb on. and im thinking that's a big no no anyway im asking for advise.

question 2
I have a husky 445 it has new carb , fuel lines, inpuse lines, filters and a new intake boot. my question is this if I push the primmer bulb 8 times the saw runs on high. every time I try n get a screw driver on the carb it shuts off. could I be sucking air somewhere? it ran fine a month ago.

ant imput would be nice and thanks in advance

On the Stihl yeah I did put the C-clamp on the boot. It's actually spitting gas out of the carburetor both the one I rebuilt and the one that I ordered so not sure if it's supposed to do that or not. Someone told me that it could also be a bearing bad even though the bearings felt good which is possible. Now the Husky the lines are hooked up right I was told it could be the crank bearings also not wanting to start for it does not have the pressure underneath but it has great topping pressure