Say what? Part VI...

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Amazing that people like this can function in life without being able to write.
Have you heard all the uproar because G. Dubya wants to require 3rd graders read on a 2nd grade level or else they get held back? I guess a certain number of people aren't supposed to be able to read or write.
But it makes it easy to weed out the idiots! If they aren't smart enough to read and write, I don't want to do business with them.

Nucular

I`ve never understood that common mis-pronunciation of the word, especially by otherwise intelligent people. Doesn`t it seem odd to them that the word looks nothing like the way they pronounce it? I work in the nuclear industry and have been subjected to many well educated(business, not science) people who commonly garble this word. Must be a southern vernacular thing though because most of the well educated who do garble it were from the South. Kinda hard to take the divisional Executive Vice President and CEO seriously when they speak like this, among many other choice phrases. Russ

hey Buckwheat,

I beleive he was a sub officer because he was also trained as a nuclear physicist (or something technical and important in that field):eek:

Russ,
Play nice when the southerners are in your playground because it ain't no fun when the shoes on the other foot. I spent months saying dog for a drill sergeant because it sounded funny to them cuz it didn't come out "dawg". I guess it could have been worse.

Just about every sub officer now has pretty extensive nuclear training in order to earn their dolphins. In Carter's case, I think he was actually an engineer.